Board of Directors

David Johnson web
  1. David D. Johnson


    Mr. Johnson holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Petroleum Engineering and has over thirty-five years of diverse experience in the Oil and Gas Industry and was previously Chairman of Progress Energy Resources Corp. prior to its sale in 2012. Mr. Johnson has also held the positions of Executive Chairman of Progress Energy Trust and President and Chief Executive Officer of ProEx Energy Ltd. Prior to these positions, he was President and Chief Executive Officer of Progress Energy Ltd. and prior thereto, President and Chief Executive Officer of Calgary-based Encal Energy Ltd. Mr. Johnson has been active in many industry, community and charitable societies and was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology where he graduated prior to attending the University of Wyoming. He is a member of the Association of Engineers, Geoscientists of Alberta and has served twice as Governor of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.


John Brussa web
  1. John Brussa


    Mr. Brussa holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Windsor and is Chairman, a senior partner and Co-Leader of the Tax Business Unit at the Calgary-based energy law firm of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP. He is also a director of a number of public companies including Baytex Energy Corp. (heavy oil and conventional production), Just Energy Group Inc. (gas marketing), and Argent Energy Trust (cross-border trust). John is the Chairman of Crew Energy Inc. (oil and gas exploration and production). John specializes in the area of taxation including resource taxation, corporate reorganizations, both public and private, cross-border and international transactions, tax-deferred financing, taxation of non-residents, structured finance and public finance. John is a past governor of the Canadian Tax Foundation and is a director or trustee of a number of charitable and non‑profit organizations.

Raymond Chan web2
  1. Raymond T. Chan


    Mr. Chan is Chairman of Baytex Energy Corp., an oil and gas exploration and production company which shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange. Mr. Chan joined Baytex in 1998 and had held positions of Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer as well as President and Chief Executive Officer. Prior to joining Baytex, Mr. Chan was Chief Financial Officer of Tarragon Oil and Gas Limited from 1990. He had held other executive positions in the Canadian oil industry since 1981. Mr. Chan holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Saskatchewan and is a Chartered Accountant. Mr. Chan also serves on the board of directors of The TMX Group Inc., WestFire Energy Ltd. and the Alberta Children’s Hospital Foundation.

Bruce Chernoff web
  1. M. Bruce Chernoff


    Mr. Chernoff is a Professional Engineer with a Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Queen’s University. Mr. Chernoff has been the President of Caribou Capital Corp, a private investment company, since 1999. Mr. Chernoff was Chairman and Founder of Harvest Energy Trust and Maxim Power Corp. and a director of several other public and private entities.

Brett Herman web
  1. Brett Herman

    President & Chief Executive Officer and Director

    Mr. Herman has extensive oil and gas experience in leadership roles at public oil and gas companies. Prior to TORC, Mr. Herman was the President & Chief Executive Officer of Result Energy Inc. Previously, Mr. Herman was the President & Chief Executive Officer of TriStar Oil & Gas Ltd. from 2006 until 2009. Prior thereto, Mr. Herman was the Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer of StarPoint Energy Ltd. from September 2003 until January 2005 and StarPoint Energy Trust until January 2006. Mr. Herman is a Chartered Accountant and is a graduate of the University of Lethbridge.

Scott Lawerance web
  1. R. Scott Lawrence


    Mr. Lawrence is the Managing Director, Head of Fundamental Equities at the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (“CPPIB”) and is an experienced private and public markets investor.  Prior to November 2016, Mr. Lawrence was Managing Director, Head of Relationship Investments at CPPIB and Senior Principal, Private Investments and Infrastructure at CPPIB from September 2005 to February 2009.  Prior thereto Mr. Lawrence was a Senior Associate for Onex Corporation and a finance professional at GE Plastics and GE Capital Real Estate.   Mr. Lawrence holds a MBA degree from Harvard Business School and a B.Comm (Hons) degree from Queen’s University.  Mr. Lawrence is a holder of the Institute of Corporate Directors, Director designation and has extensive board experience, including positions on the boards of Entertainment One Ltd., Progress Energy Resources Corp., and Transelec S.A.

Dale Shwed web
  1. Dale Shwed


    Mr. Shwed is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Crew Energy Inc. a Calgary, Alberta based exploration and production company. Mr. Shwed graduated from the University of Alberta with a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology in 1980, whereupon he joined Amoco Canada Petroleum Corporation Ltd. as an exploration geologist. He held positions of increasing responsibility with various exploration and production companies before founding his own consulting, production and development company Elad Resources Corporation in 1986. In 1993, Mr. Shwed founded Baytex Energy Ltd. a public exploration and development company. He was the President and Chief Executive Officer overseeing the operations of the Company growing production to over 40,000 boepd. In 2003 Baytex Energy Ltd. was reorganized into Baytex Energy Trust and a junior exploration and production company Crew Energy Ltd. Mr. Shwed is on the Board of Directors for Baytex Energy Corp.